Jesus was a bigot

Matt 10:5, 6 – depicts Jesus instructing his workers to go out and spread his word, but only to the Jews. “Go not into the way of the Gentiles … but rather to the lost sheep of the house of Israel.”

6 Responses to “Jesus was a bigot”

  1. Look i’ll go ahead and throw this out there because im getting a little sick reading this. You can not recreate God, You try and try in this blog by taking pieces of scripture and throwing them out to picture a bigotrous evil God, and have “created” a God that no intellectual xian would agree with. HOWEVER you have not created the true picture of X please actually read the bible and STUDY! it before you make statements about its falsehoods.David

  2. doubtingthomas426 Says:

    Again I am perplexed by your response to my post, David. I simply quote a passage from your holy book, the words of your lord and savior, and you reply that I am trying to recreate God, that I am using bits and pieces of scripture to portray an evil god. I’m sorry but if God’s own words reflect poorly on him and Jesus’ make him out to be a bigot, how is that my doing?

    And as for your standard sign off of ‘read/study your bible’ or ‘do your research’ before I comment, I assure you, young man, I have been studying the bible, and multiple versions at that, for more years than you’ve been alive. As I stated on my main page, I was a church going, private Christian school attending believer for many years. But yes, I was as closed minded and stubborn as you when I was seventeen so I guess it’s unfair for me to expect any better.

  3. Wow did you completely miss what i said? You did indeed take random segments from the Bible to portray an evil bigotrous God to turn others away. When I could do the exact same thing wth a science txt book, it is all broken down to a matter of context in which the words are being used.David

  4. doubtingthomas426 Says:

    Very well, David, just what context makes Jesus’ command to “Go not into the way of the Gentiles … but rather to the lost sheep of the house of Israel.”, in other words, ignore all but the Jews, NOT offensive?

  5. I think what David is saying goes along these lines:

    Here are two quotes from your front page:

    “This occurred as a direct result of studying the holy book (the Bible).”

    “Even in my many years of bible study classes studying the bible was never the goal.”

    Now, I could say, “which was it, did you study or didn’t you study?” But that would be silly as the context of these quotes shows no contradiction. Yet taken by themselves or taking the 2nd and holding it up to other comments you have made about how careful you are in selecting verses could appear as though you aren’t really being serious with the text.

    I think that is David’s point, and in some cases, I would agree that you don’t pay attention to the context any better than I have with those two quotes above.

    Now, as I have been chastised in other posts for saying context and not explaining, I do want to come back and give my two cents on why this should not be offensive. I think a reason exists, but I have been on this site far too long today. 🙂

    But, David, DoubtingThomas is right, don’t just say context, without providing an explanation. Add to the discussion; don’t deteriorate to name calling and accusations. Doesn’t do anyone any good. If you are sick of reading, then do one of two things: stop reading or show clearly and with grace how DoubtingThomas is wrong.

    Thanks for the conversation,

    Michael

  6. Michael,

    As you like, here is the context of the above passage. Jesus is sending out his disciples to do his work. He has given them his powers and abilities. He is instructing them on what to do and what not to do. He instructs – “These twelve Jesus sent forth, and commanded them, saying, Go not into the way of the Gentiles, and into any city of the Samaritans enter ye not: But go rather to the lost sheep of the house of Israel.” (Matthew 10:5 & 6). No matter how you look at it, Jesus is instructing the disciples to focus only on the Jews, and ignore all the rest. Out of context is not a valid argument here. Period.

    DoubtingThomas

Leave a Reply

