Wives, Submit To Your Husbands

Eph. 5:22, 24“Wives, submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as unto the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife, even as Christ is the head of the church: …. Therefore as the church is subject unto Christ, so let the wives be to their own husbands in everything.”

9 Responses to “Wives, Submit To Your Husbands”

  1. Why skip verse 21 which calls for everyone to submit to everyone?
    Again, I recommend Beyond Sex Roles by Gilbert Bilezikean.

  2. Paul,

    Because it is irrelevant. Husbands are told to ‘love’ their wives, wives are told to be in ‘subordination’ (WNT), ‘subjection’ (ASV, LIT, YGB), ‘submit’ (KJV, DRB, WEY, WEB, ISV) to their husbands.

    DoubtingThomas

  3. DT,

    Once again you show your lack of any real knowledge of the Bible. In the original verse 22 contains no verb. It literally reads “wives to their own husbands as to the Lord.” Verse 22 gets the verb submit from the verse you deem irrelevant. There are more ways this verse IS significant to understanding the passage, but it would take to long to explain here, especially since you seem to fail to gasp how to read a text for understanding, let alone one that is translated.
    Again I recommend Beyond Sex Roles by Gilbert Bilezikian.

  4. Paul,

    I happened to stumble across this page today and have decided to make a few points about your post.

    1.Condescension will not win any souls
    2.Condescension will not win any souls
    3.Condescension will not win any souls

    Your post seems to radiate with you being the center of all biblical knowledge in the universe and other being unfit to bask in your glorious brilliance. You make it seem as though the only people fit to be athiests are the idiots who cant interpret the Bible the way that you deem fit.

    Paul, I say this as a fellow brother in X, you have to speak to people on their ground and bring yourself down from your pedastle to be an effective witness.

    !)avid

  5. Whiteman0o0,
    You are correct, I was sounding a little condescending. DT, I am sorry for this.
    I am by no means saying that “[I] am the center of all biblical knowledge in the universe . . .”
    In fact their are many intelligent people who disagree with a lot of my interpretations. And I encourage every one to read them. I hope I have not implied that my way of looking at the Bible is the only way. But I also hope that DT and others on this site will see that you cannot say you have truly studied the Bible if you do not look at view points that differ from your own, or at different translations, or know at least a little bit about the culture when the passage was written. To do otherwise is as disingenuous as creationists who “disprove” evolution by using the Piltdown man.

  6. As yet, I have not yet thoroughly investigated your website, Paul, but I haven’t, so far, found you to think that you write as though you think you are the center of Biblical knowledge. So far, you have taken, verbatim, scriptures directed against women. I had to smile as I read, ‘Woman, Zip It Up’. I’d like to use that term—and I’d give you credit for it, in an essay on my blog—but I’d use it as an admonition directed toward males. On considering the already six billion human beings populating the earth, my headline would be. . . Men, Zip it up!

  7. Mary,

    I hope you didn’t misunderstand my post. Keep in mind what Catagory I placed it under — THE ABUSE OF WOMEN. Believe me, Mary, I agree with you that the bible was written by a bunch of misogynists. I even remember, back when I was a fanatical Christian, wondering to myself how women can belong to this religion (or any for that mater).

    DoubtingThomas

  8. Thomas/Mary, I haven’t been on much lately but I figured that I would post a little bit about this as it seems to be a topic that Mary is rather passionate about. I would have to disagree that the bible was written entirely by Misogynists. I have read the passage that you refer to and have found that I believe your quarrel with it to be a simple misinterpretation. The passage tells women to submit to their husbands as the church submits to Christ. You seem to believe that this is saying for all women to bow down and worship their husbands and never say anything against them or else they will be condemned. I on the other hand offer a very different approach to this passage. Christ is the head of the church in that He delivers to them their doctrine that he is responsible for leading them in the proper direction. This is the role that men are supposed to play in their marital relationships they are responsible for their wives. !)avid

Leave a Reply

